Bayley. The Story.

After a little push and some major inspiration, I’ve decided to give this blogging thing another go. Why? Well, the last 25 years has been interestingly beautiful and I feel I can relate to many different people. In one way or another I hope to connect, motivate, or inspire with my blogging based around hardships, the modeling industry, travels, experiences and everything in between that have made me who I am today.

“My name is Bayley, I’m American, I’m 177cm tall, and I love yoga!” Ok, no, but for real, that’s just what we call an “intro video” when models are being proposed to agencies all over the world or casting for a job.

[Model Bayley VS. The REAL Bayley]

My name IS Bayley, and here is my intro. I was born in Dearborn, Michigan where i was raised by my grandparents from the age of 12. I grew up a total tomboy only interested in biking, skateboarding, soccer, and every sport for that matter. Soccer was my life growing up. I played since the young age of 6, four years of varsity for my high school, and during off season, I played for two indoor teams.

l_69e0d95a38b8036fad5855129e590051[Back in the day while huddling with my Edsel Ford High School T-Birds. I bet you cant guess which player is me?? Number 9 fo lyfe yo!]

I got into cosmetology by accident and fell in love with it. As soon as I turned 18, I had my cosmetology license. I’ve kept up with it during my travels and even spent some time working at a hair salon in Chicago.

The transition into modeling started while I was going to beauty school. A strong family figure of my, at the time boyfriend, had said, “You’re very pretty, you should try modeling!”. Not knowing that my “Grammy” would do anything about it, told her I would like to try. Shortly after, I received a phone call to come into an agency and meet with everyone. I started as many young models do being scammed by spending a ton of money on a “modeling” school. After I knew better, I began networking and signed with all the local agencies in Michigan. One agency took so much interest that they took me to New York to meet with agents. I continued building my portfolio while finishing high school and while I attended community college for Business. It wasn’t until 2009 when I was scouted on this crazy ass website, Model Mayhem, and began traveling the world. Don’t get me wrong, there is some good to come from that site as I met one of the most important people in my life on there, as well as other talented peeps that turned into great friendships.  Just be careful and don’t shoot nudies! I’ve been blessed to travel the world on modeling contracts in various parts of Asia including; Guangzhou, Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Korea, Philippines, Malaysia, and now in Thailand. I also spent some time modeling in Brazil.

[The images below are some of the work I’ve done from 2009 to 2016]

I cant remember the first time I tried yoga as it wasn’t life changing at first. I got more into it in 2010 while living in Brazil and wanting a good stretch after my daily hour long run in the park. I had no idea that it would become the passion that it is today. I’ve always loved working out at home in front of a TV or Laptop. I do love me a good gym, but a lot of the time you need a phat bank role to keep up with the membership payments and I just love the convenience of doing a work out at anytime, anywhere.  Since 2008, I’ve been a member of what is now known as Gaia.com. I use this website most frequently and pay about $10/month. There are also a ton of great, free videos on Youtube. I got hardcore into yoga, practicing everyday, in November of 2013 in Beijing mostly due to needing it mentally to cope with the daily stress (9 hours in a van for castings, dumb models, and crazy bookers just to name a few) and of course the physical benefits.
In May of 2014, after 5 years of mostly living in Asia, I moved to Chicago with my boyfriend. We met on a modeling contract in Guangzhou, China at the end of 2013. He just so happened to be from the Midwest, only a five hour drive from my hometown! What are the chances?! It was a cool close friendship that transitioned to the most beautiful, chill relationship I could have ever asked for. Since then we’ve been lucky enough to travel the world together.
Our move to Chicago was definitely in my opinion the definition of Drakes common lyric, “Started from the bottom now we here”. We traveled to Chicago to see model agencies, got signed, and moved days after. We started from scratch, with barely anything, staying in the basements of a family friend in Grayslake and then my boyfriends Grandmas in Crystal Lake so that we could save up the money to move into the city. As soon as we moved to Illinois, our agencies hooked us up with a contact that, “hired models”. We started working jobs at the iconic restaurant, The Pump Room.  The everyday commute was two hours (1 hour n’ 20 minute train + a 40 minute walk). In only one and a half months, with hard work, dedication, long hours spent commuting and no sleep, we were able to save up enough and get a cosigner to move into our very own closet sized apartment in the Gold Coast! Chicago was a huge time for growth. It was nice to make modeling more of a part time thing and focus on a consistent income working as a hostess and later, a hairstylist and front desk at a yoga studio.
After a year in Chicago, I had realized I was burned out with hostessing and needed a change. I applied at a Hair Cuttery to get salon experience and saw an opening at a Yoga Six for the front desk. I had still been in love with yoga and practiced it daily, so when I saw the opening I applied right away. I went in for the interviews and was hired! I quit my job at Pump Room and moved into my new chapter. I developed a small clientele in the salon and made some of the greatest friendships. I also managed to dip back into the Pump Room scene for my favorite Sunday Brunch shifts. It lasted 6 months before my boyfriend and I got an offer to go back to China. One of our friends opened up an agency and wanted us to come back. After a lot of thought and the planning of my yoga teacher training in Koh Samui at the end of the year, we accepted and shortly after began our journey visiting family in Michigan and in Arizona. From Arizona we went to Guangzhou for a 2 month contract, Philippines for a 3 month contract, Malaysia for a 3 month contract, and are now in Thailand before my yoga training in November.
So there you have it! A compression of the last 25 years. Im currently in Thailand awaiting my yoga teacher training to become a yoga instructor. I hope I’ve grabbed your attention in some way and I’d be grateful if you follow my story. I’d LOVE to hear what you have to say. Comments and suggestions are appreciated.

Much Love,

B.

Snapchat: bayalexsch
Instagram: bayleyalexandra
Facebook: bayley alexandra schneider
2 thoughts on “Bayley. The Story.

Leave a Reply

